Go Back to News & Press

Ashfield Girls’ High School Nominated at Into Film Awards!

Posted on 19th March 2015 | Cinemagic NewsPress Releases

Film Club in Ashfield Girls’ High School in East Belfast is one of only 3 clubs out of over 10,000 running across the United Kingdom to reach the finals of Film Club of the Year and will attend the first Into Film Awards ceremony at the iconic Empire Leicester Square, London, on 24th March 2015.

The school, which has been running Film Club for almost 4 years, has been recognised for its commitment to inclusion, involving students from across the academic divide including students with Special Educational Needs and literacy difficulties and for engaging pupils whose first language is not English.

Film Club leader, Tracy Rossborough, who will attend the awards accompanied by 3 pupils and club co-ordinator Roberta Lyons, said “This is a wonderful achievement for the pupils and the school and it recognises the commitment of the girls who attend Film Club each week. However, Film Club doesn’t just involve watching films each week- we have noticed an improvement in pupils’ literacy skills through completing their online film reviews as well as their increased self-esteem and social interaction as a result of their collaboration with other pupils within the school and working with film professionals outside school. Ashfield Girls’ High School has already achieved Super Club status and it would be wonderful if we were to achieve this national recognition. We are also very grateful to Cinemagic, Into Film for supporting us, to Ashfield’s Parents and Friends and all the parents who have helped with our fund-raising efforts to enable us to travel to the awards ceremony.”

The awards, which will be hosted by TV and Radio Personality, Matt Edmunson will see winners receive a coveted gong, are being judged by a wealth of industry players including Sir Alan Parker (Evita), David Yates (Harry Potter) and Manjinder Kirk (Call the Midwife).

Into Film Clubs in Northern Ireland is a Northern Ireland Screen after-school initiative designed to reduce disadvantage and is funded by the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure. The scheme is managed by Cinemagic Film Festival and The Nerve Centre.

Cinemagic Patrons

  • Liam Neeson
  • Pierce Brosnan
  • Dermot O‚ÄôLeary
  • Terry George
  • Brian Cox
  • Lisa Henson
  • Suranne Jones
  • Julian Fellowes
  • Christine Bleakley
  • Seamus McGarvey
  • Ciaran McMenamin
  • Colin Farrell
  • Patrick Bergin
  • Ros Hubbard
  • John Hubbard
  • Gary Knell
  • Rachel Kavanagh
  • Aidan Power
  • Mark Huffam
  • Saoirse Ronan
  • Craig Doyle
  • Robbie Sheehan
  • Bruce Reynolds
  • Marc Mallett
  • Bronagh Waugh