Go Back to News & Press

Ashfield Girls’ High School Win at Into Film Awards!

Posted on 26th March 2015 | Cinemagic News

Ashfield Girls High School Belfast is celebrating after winning the Into Film Club Of The Year: 13s and Over category, sponsored by Sony Pictures, at the inaugural Into Film Awards.

Into Film, supported by the BFI with Lottery funding, the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure and Cinema First, honoured awardees during a star-studded ceremony at Empire Leicester Square, which celebrated the best of the UK's young filmmakers, film reviewers and teachers utilising the educational power of film.  

HARRY POTTER star Jessie Cave, and Ross Anderson of UNBROKEN presented the pupils with their well-earned award. Originally part of the film club pilot in Northern Ireland, this club has been running for over three years with 25 committed members and is being recognised for inclusive nature and enthusiasm. Ashfield Girls is situated in a socially deprived area and the teachers use film as a way to raise aspirations, help pupils achieve and give them new opportunities normally unavailable to them. Their film club recently collaborated with Oscar nominee and BAFTA winner Michael Lennox to create their own short Ella, which for many members was their first foray into filmmaking. The team has also worked with Belfast Council on their ‘Litter Flick Campaign’, producing an animated movie that was showcased at the school’s Primary Open Night.

Krizzah, part of the winning team said:

“Not only is this a great achievement for our school, it is great news for Northern Ireland and a testament to the ongoing work in the film industry within the region. As pupils from diverse backgrounds, with different abilities, everyone in the club reflects our school motto of ‘Each different, each talented, all valued’. Through Into Film we’ve learnt about other cultures, traditions and have had the opportunity to discuss racism, sectarianism and bullying; which affects us all as children growing up here.”

Among those supporting the initiative in Northern Ireland are actress Gillian Anderson and filmmaker Mark Cousins. Delivery partners include Cinemagic, Northern Ireland Screen and The Nerve Centre.

Cinemagic Patrons

  • Liam Neeson
  • Pierce Brosnan
  • Dermot O‚ÄôLeary
  • Terry George
  • Brian Cox
  • Lisa Henson
  • Suranne Jones
  • Julian Fellowes
  • Christine Bleakley
  • Seamus McGarvey
  • Ciaran McMenamin
  • Colin Farrell
  • Patrick Bergin
  • Ros Hubbard
  • John Hubbard
  • Gary Knell
  • Rachel Kavanagh
  • Aidan Power
  • Mark Huffam
  • Saoirse Ronan
  • Craig Doyle
  • Robbie Sheehan
  • Bruce Reynolds
  • Marc Mallett
  • Bronagh Waugh