Go Back to News & Press

FILMCLUB Awards Northern Ireland SuperClubs!

Posted on 10th January 2014 | Cinemagic News

FILMCLUB Super Club awards are given to film clubs who go above and beyond to inspire a love of cinema in their members. St Clare’s Primary School In Newry and Ashfield Girls High School In Belfast recently received their Super Club awards. Both schools were recognised for their innovative use of what FILMCLUB has to offer. Through their screenings they have linked up with various aspects of the curriculum and also used cinema to learn about the wider world. 

FILMCLUB Leader Therese Kelland said after receiving the super club award:  “I was so delighted when St Clare's Primary School FILMCLUB was named as a 'Super Club'. We worked very hard to get our FILMCLUB off the ground and we were thrilled that all our hard work was rewarded with this prestigious award.

FILMCLUB Leader Tracey Rossborough said after receiving the super club award:“We at Ashfield Girls’ are delighted to have been awarded ‘Super Club’ status as it recognises the importance we, as a school, place on Film Club. It also highlights the dedication and commitment of the staff and pupils involved with the club. FILMCLUB has offered our pupils a vast range of experiences and opportunities from creating movies using iPads to working with film directors and meeting media professionals such as James Nesbitt and Lord Julian Fellowes. FILMCLUB offers the girls a chance to watch a wide range of films from different cultures as well as helping improve their social and literacy skills, through working collaboratively completing their on-line film reviews. I would encourage all schools to avail of this fantastic opportunity to become a member of the FILMCLUB team”

Cinemagic Patrons

  • Liam Neeson
  • Pierce Brosnan
  • Dermot O‚ÄôLeary
  • Terry George
  • Brian Cox
  • Lisa Henson
  • Suranne Jones
  • Julian Fellowes
  • Christine Bleakley
  • Seamus McGarvey
  • Ciaran McMenamin
  • Colin Farrell
  • Patrick Bergin
  • Ros Hubbard
  • John Hubbard
  • Gary Knell
  • Rachel Kavanagh
  • Aidan Power
  • Mark Huffam
  • Saoirse Ronan
  • Craig Doyle
  • Robbie Sheehan
  • Bruce Reynolds
  • Marc Mallett
  • Bronagh Waugh