Go Back to News & Press

Nationwide Call For Young Filmmakers!

Posted on 14th February 2014 | Industry Related News

The National Youth Film School was launched by Minister for the Arts, Jimmy Deenihan and Young Irish Film Makers, the national organization for youth film in Ireland.  Young Irish Film Makers (YIFM) have run the national youth film school since 2002, and this year they have teamed up with IADT Dun Laoghaire and the Irish Film Industry to run this high talent programme for the future filmmakers of Ireland.  Industry backing for the film school comes from the Irish Film Board, Screen Training Ireland, the Screen Directors Guild, Screen Producers Ireland and Filmbase.

60 young people will be called to attend industry master classes at Easter and 30 budding filmmakers will be chosen to attend a week long training and production workshop during the summer.  The school will have top industry experts and practical workshops with the best equipment the film industry has to offer.  Young film makers will also get the chance to work on a professionally run crew to produce a short film.  An industry premiere is planned for Autumn 2014 to screen the films and showcase the young talent.

This National Youth Film School is specifically designed for young people aged 16 to 19 who are interested in pursuing a career in film-making or television.  The programme will be jam packed with interactive workshops in all aspects of film-making - from writing to lighting, production to editing - all with professional experts in the field.  Over the years, the National Youth Film School has attracted young people from all over Ireland, Europe and even the USA to Kilkenny for this one-of-a-kind opportunity to work at a professional level on a broadcast quality film production. 

Over the last 21 years Young Irish Film Makers have helped many young people to develop their skills and work towards attending film schools such as IADT National Film School in Dun Laoghaire.   Previous students at Young Irish Film Makers include Oscar nominee Tomm Moore of Cartoon Saloon. 

Minister Deenihan commented “The National Youth Film School will be of great benefit to young film makers.  It is the first industry backed, nationally co-coordinated programme for young Irish film talent consisting of master-classes, career coaching, hands-on sessions and engagement with current industry professionals.  It will equip participants with the practical knowledge, skills and contacts to ensure they are fully supported through high-level training to become a key part of the Irish film industry.”

“Production activity in the Irish film industry was worth €168m to the economy last year, and there is no doubt that this programme will have a very positive impact on the industry in the years ahead.”

Mike Kelly (Creative Director at Young Irish Film Makers) commented “This is an amazing opportunity for any young person interested in film or television as a career.  With the generous backing of the National Film School IADT and the film industry, students who take part in the National Youth Film School will receive a once in a life time opportunity to grow their skills, see the industry from the inside out and make all the right moves towards college and a career in film.”

The call is out for young film making talent (16-19yrs) to take part in this unique opportunity for any young person planning a career in Film or Television.  You can  register now for The National Youth Film School on www.yifm.com to make sure you get your place.

Press Release Contact Information:

Phyllis McQuaid -Young Irish Film Makers
Email:  phyllis@yifm.com 
Phone: (056) – 77 64677

Project Coordinator:
Garry Mc Hugh -Young Irish Film Makers
Email:  garry@yifm.com 
Phone: (056) – 77 64677
Mob:  087 - 9412239

Cinemagic Patrons

  • Liam Neeson
  • Pierce Brosnan
  • Dermot O‚ÄôLeary
  • Terry George
  • Brian Cox
  • Lisa Henson
  • Suranne Jones
  • Julian Fellowes
  • Christine Bleakley
  • Seamus McGarvey
  • Ciaran McMenamin
  • Colin Farrell
  • Patrick Bergin
  • Ros Hubbard
  • John Hubbard
  • Gary Knell
  • Rachel Kavanagh
  • Aidan Power
  • Mark Huffam
  • Saoirse Ronan
  • Craig Doyle
  • Robbie Sheehan
  • Bruce Reynolds
  • Marc Mallett
  • Bronagh Waugh